Pack 52's
Home Page
Join Pack 52
Tigers (1st Grade)
Wolf (2nd Grade)
Bear (3rd Grade)
Weblos I – (4th Grad
Weblos II – (5th)
Download Forms
Beltloops & Pins
Square Knots
Gulf Coast Council

Cub Scout Pack 52
(Niceville, Florida)
ScoutLander Contact Our Pack Member Login

Webelos II
(5th Grade)

 After a boy has completed the fourth grade and earned the WEBELOS badge, the next step on the WEBELOS trail to becoming a Boy Scout is earning the Arrow of Light Award.  This is the highest award a Cub Scout can earn, and is the only Cub Scout badge that can be worn on the Boy Scout Uniform.  It's tougher to earn than the WEBELOS badge.  The Cub Scout will have to earn the Webelos badge and at least eight activity badges, including Citizen, Readyman, and Fitness. The total must include one from each of the five activity groups.


1.  Be active in your WEBELOS den for at least 6 months since completing the fourth grade (or for at least six months since becoming 10 years old), and earn the Webelos badge.

2.  Show your knowledge of the requirements to become a Boy Scout by doing all of these:

bullet Repeat from memory and explain in your own words the Scout Oath or Promise and the Scout Law.  Tell how you have practiced them in your everyday life.
bullet Give and explain the Scout motto, slogan, sign, salute, and shake.
bullet Understand the significance of the Scout badge. Know its parts and tell what each stands for.
bullet How a Boy Scout uniform is different from a WEBELOS Scout uniform.
bullet Tie the joining knot (square knot)

 3.  Earn five more activity badges in addition to the three you already earned for the WEBELOS badge. The total of eight activity badges must include:



bullet Fitness (already earned for the WEBELOS badge)
bullet Citizen
bullet Readyman
bullet At least one from the Outdoor Group
bullet At least one from the Mental Skills Group
bullet At least one from the Technology Group
bullet Two more of your choice
See the activity badge groups.

4.  With your WEBELOS den, visit at least one Boy Scout troop meeting, and one Boy Scout-oriented outdoor activity.

5.  Participate in a WEBELOS overnight campout or day hike.

6.  After you have completed all five of the above requirements, and after a talk with your WEBELOS den leader, arrange to visit, with your parent or guardian, a meeting of the Boy Scout troop you think you might like to join. Have a conference with the Scoutmaster. This is one of the most important requirements. You will talk with the Scoutmaster and turn in an application to become a Boy Scout. 



The Cub Scouts Academics and Sports Program is targeted towards the physical, mental and emotional fitness of Cub Scouts.  Fitness includes the body (physically fit and healthy), the mind (thinking and solving problems), and the emotions (self-control, courage, and self-respect).  The aim of this program is to encourage the boys to DO THEIR BEST, as opposed to being highly competitive.

The Academic and Sports Program is optional for all Cub Scouts.  It is not part of the normal requirements towards ranks.  A variety of recognition items are available for the scouts (Wolf, Bear, or WEBELOS Scouts) who participate in the program. 

bullet Belt loops are awarded to boys who complete the three belt loop requirements in an academic subject or sport.
bullet Pins are awarded to boys who choose to continue their involvement in an Academics or Sports area.


Character Counts Logo