Pack 20's
Home Page
General Info
Scouting Journey
Contact Us

Cub Scout Pack 20
(Shelton, Connecticut)
ScoutLander Contact Our Pack Member Login

Scout Oath/Law/Vision Statement


On my honor I will do my best to do my duty to God and my country and to obey the Scout Law; to help other people at all times; to keep myself physically strong, mentally awake, and morally straight.


A Scout is trustworthy, loyal, helpful, friendly, courteous, kind, obedient, cheerful, thrifty, brave, clean, and reverent.


The Boy Scouts of America will prepare every eligible youth in America to become a responsible, participating citizen and leader who is guided by the Scout Oath and Scout Law.


Parents, Leaders and organizations work together to achieve the 10 purposes of Cub Scouting:

  1. Character development
  2. Spiritual growth
  3. Good citizenship
  4. Sportsmanship and fitness
  5. Family understanding
  6. Respectful relationships
  7. Personal achievement
  8. Friendly service
  9. Fun and adventure
  10. Preparation for Boy Scouts


Cub Scouting's 12 Core Values

1. Citizenship:
Contributing service and showing responsibility to local, state, and national communities.
2. Compassion:
Being kind and considerate, and showing concern for the well-being of others.
3. Cooperation:
Being helpful and working together with others toward a common goal
4. Courage:
Being brave and doing what is right regardless of our fears, the difficulties, or the consequences.
5. Faith:
Having inner strength and confidence based on our trust in God.
6. Health and Fitness:
Being personally committed to keeping our minds and bodies clean and fit.
7. Honesty:
Telling the truth and being worthy of trust.
8. Perseverance:
Sticking with something and not giving up, even if it is difficult.
9. Positive Attitude:
Being cheerful and setting our minds to look for and find the best in all situations.
10. Resourcefulness:
Using human and other resources to their fullest.
11. Respect:
Showing regard for the worth of something or someone.
12. Responsibility:
Fulfilling our duty to God, country, other people, and ourselves

Bobcat Trail - A Scout's First Level

When a boy enters scouting, regardless of his level at entry (be it at the Tiger, Wolf, Bear or Webelos level), every Cub Scout goes down the Bobcat trail as his first accomplishment. There are certain requirement that each Cub Scout must accomplish to earn his Bobcat badge.

Here are some of the requirements:

Learn the Scout Salute
Learn the Scouts Hand Shake and it meanings
Learn the Scout Sign

Learn the Law of the Pack:
The Cub Scout follows Akela.
The Cub Scout helps the pack go.
The pack helps the Cub Scout grow.
The Cub Scout gives goodwill.

Learn the Cub Scout Promise:
I _[name]_ promise to do my best
To do my duty to God and my country,
To help other people, and
To obey the Law of the Pack.

Tiger Scout

This level is for boys in First Grade.  In addition to the Tiger Den Leader, the Tiger Scout's adult partner (parent, etc.) works very closely with the Scout and the Tiger Den Leader to help the Scout accomplish the requirements necessary for him to earn his Tiger rank badge.

Wolf Scout

The Wolf Scout is a boy who is in the second grade.  The Wolf Den Leader prepares a plan for the Wolf scouts to earn their Wolf badge and works closely with the Scouts on accomplishing those requirements with assistance from the Wolf Scout's adult-partner.

Bear Scout

The Bear Scout is a boy who is in the third grade. This level of Scout becomes more independent from his adult partner and works closely with the Den Leader on the accomplishments needed to earn his rank. 

Webelos Scout

The name "Webelos" stands for We Be Loyal Scouts.  This level of scouting consists of two levels -- Webelos I (boys who are in the fourth grade) and Webelos II (Scouts who are in the fifth grade).  All accomplishments for the Webelos rank are worked on by the Scout and his Den Leader, without any assistance from the Scout's adult partner.  This gets the Webelos scout ready for his cross-over to a Boy Scout troop after he accomplishes his Webelos II level.