Troop 74's
Home Page
Troop History
Eagle Honor Roll
Welcome Package
Boy Scout Uniform
Merit Badges
Scout Awards
Contact Troop

Boy Scout Troop 74
(Bushkill Township, Pennsylvania)
ScoutLander Contact Our Troop Member Login

                                             We are proud of the traditions of Troop 74 and we are building on the traditions for the future. Troop 74 has been in existence for 56 (1958-2014) years.

We are working hard to keep the spirit of Scouting alive.  We want this Troop to be known as one that goes places and does things.  We feel that the activities of scouting attract boys to the program to have fun.  While they are having fun, it provides opportunities for them to grow in character and learn values that will help them throughout life.

History of Troop 74

Mr. Marcus Yeakel, first Scoutmaster and the man who started Troop 74 is proud that Troop 74 has served so many boys over the years.  The Troop was chartered in July 1958, and sponsored by Bushkill United Methodist Church, Wind Gap, Pennsylvania.  The church has sponsored the Troop for 46 of its’ 56 year history.  Aluta Mill Lodge of the Odd Fellows, Nazareth, Pennsylvania, sponsored the Troop for 2 years and the Bushkill Township Fire Company sponsored the Troop for 2 years as well.

There have been 15 Scoutmasters and 18 Committe Chairs in the history of Troop 74 from 1958-2008.  The Troop has served hundreds of boys over the years.  We are pleased that 78 of these boys were able to complete the rank of Eagle Scout as young men.  Their Eagle Scout Projects assisted many religious, civic and public non-profit groups.

The values and good turns done by boys served by Troop 74 over the years is our Troop’s legacy of its 56 years.  Troop 74 has appreciated the service of the many adult leaders over the years, who have guided and assisted in the operation of Troop 74.

Troop 74 looks forward to the next 50 years and more of service to our community and its’ boys.

Scoutmasters of Troop 74

Marcus Yeakel 1958-1969

James Kessler 1969

Arthur Bruch 1970

William Snyder 1971-1974

Less Little 1975-1983

William Shirer III 1984-1985

Robert Krause 1986-1990

Ray Marsh 1991-1994

Bob (Quentin) Gilbert 1995

Robert Krug 1996-2000

Richard Cortright 2001-2002

William Lapps 2002-2005

Marvin Beahn 2005-2007

Richard Cortright 2007-2009

Peter Miller 2009-2012

Rick Boucher 2013-2017

Rich Laurito 2017-present

Committee Chairman ofTroop 74


1958-1967 Richard S.Charles

1968 James Kessler

1969 Arthur Bruck

1969-1970 Willard J.Hunter

1971-1972 Martin M.Winfield

1973 Emerson C.Weidman

1974 HowardKostenbader

1975-1978 Ronald C.Houser

1979-1987 RobertSmith

1988-1990 Walter J.Fries

1991-1994 Karen Voda

1995 Rev. John C.Kunkle

1996-1997 Richard J.Cortright

1998-2006 Taylor C.Bet

2007 Jeff Gum

2007-2012 Paul F.Prass

2013-2017 WilliamBartlett

2017-present JenniferRinker